Undoing by L. L. Diamond – Review

I’ve read a handful of JAFF where Elizabeth was married first, to someone other than Darcy. In general, it’s not my cup of tea and I’ve always had mixed feelings. It is a hard pill to swallow. In L.L. Diamond’s new novel, Undoing, Elizabeth is married to a duke but the author doesn’t take the path other authors choose. What a story and what a twist Ms Diamond came up with! 

I think, for me, as long as Elizabeth and Darcy are not out of character, I’m good. I suppose when one writes a variation, in the Jane Austen fan fiction world one can’t completely keep everyone’s characteristics as it would lead to the same story. I’m afraid Ms Diamond likes to turn nice characters into evils as she did it in An Unwavering Trust where her victim was Mr Gardiner, in Undoing, her victim is Colonel Fitzwilliam. First, I didn’t like this change, but she balanced it very well with the Viscount’s character and his relationship with Darcy. I guess, by reading all of the books by the author make me well-armed in some ways by now. 

Although Ms Diamond chose to change Colonel Fitzwilliam’s characteristic, she did not change Caroline Bingley’s or Lady Catherine’s character. I have to say, as much as I don’t like Miss Bingley, she was masterfully crafted in Undoing (along with Mrs Hamilton, the Duke’s housekeeper). Karma bit back in both cases.  

There are two scenes which stand out for me, for 2 different reasons. The first one is when Darcy and Elizabeth meet for the first time (Elizabeth is already the Duchess of Leeds). Darcy is what we know from Pride and Prejudice. As they are from the same social circle, he is nice and agreeable, but also a bit stiff. The author found the perfect balance; my first thought was that it could have been written by Austen. 

 The second scene I loved was the carriage scene when the duke and the duchess go to Pemberley. I needed lots of ice cream to eat Elizabeth’s pain away. It is a very intense scene.

What I love the most in this book is how smooth and finely tuned the relationships and friendships are in the story. I love Darcy’s father. What a man! Just how I imagined him from what we know of him from P&P. I adore the bond between the duke and George Darcy; and the friendship between Darcy and his cousin, the Viscount. 

I mentioned in all of my LL Diamond reviews how much I love how she plays with names. I think she peaked in Undoing picking the best possible first name (with all its connotative meanings) and giving it to -from a story point of view- the most important character. Utterly brilliant and I laughed my head off.  

Reading the blurb, you might think “I don’t want to read a book where Elizabeth is married to other than Darcy”, I promise L.L Diamond and Undoing will not disappoint you. It has a very unique twist and it’s very cleverly written. It is funny, heart-breaking, steamy, witty and entertaining. I need to mention that it does contain quite graphic parts, though. 

5 thoughts on “Undoing by L. L. Diamond – Review

  1. I love your review and only wish I could work out how to write one without giving spoilers!
    This is such a great book as you say. Well done Leslie! I was worried on seeing that Elizabeth marries someone else! Noooooo! So for anyone else with this fear? just keep reading! This is a definite favourite book for me. ❤️

    Like

  2. Excellent review, Mira. As you know, I love your reviews and look forward to more. You have a gift of sharing lots of good information that will entice the reader without giving away secrets that will spoil the story for readers. It’s much appreciated by authors and readers alike. This review helps us to know we really, really want to read this book now! Congratulations, Leslie, on your new release! I know it will be a good one.

    Like

  3. I agree with Glynis, that now having to write my own review how do I do so without SPOILERS? Great review here, though.

    Like

Leave a comment