Unwrapping Mr Darcy by Leslie L. Diamond – Review

Leslie L. Diamond is in my top 5 favourite JAFF writers not only because I love her writing, but also because she never disappoints. So far all her novels (Rain and Retribution, A Matter of Chance, An Unwavering Trust, The Earl’s Conquest, Particular Intentions and Particular Attachments) took place in the Regency era, but this time, Unwrapping Mr Darcy, she wasn’t only carried away with the festive season and went for a Christmas story, but also a modern one. It takes place in Manhattan, NY. Darcy lives in Riverside Drive, my favourite place in the whole world.

I think Ms Diamond couldn’t come up with a better title. It’s short and catchy, the double meaning absolutely sums up the plot. The black cat on the cover has a rather significant role in the story, so I guess I can forgive her…

I couldn’t help but imagine this book would make a perfect Hallmark Christmas movie. And I’m saying it with the utmost respect as I think there is nothing better during November/December than good HM film on a lazy day.

It’s a charming, fast-paced novel without the unnecessary fluff, focusing on Elizabeth and Darcy. Love, how Darcy is able to show what the original character made so special and loved, namely, that he is attentive and happy to go miles for someone he cares for. He is Elizabeth’s Secret Santa and gives her 25 presents, one each day. Despite the bag of presents, he definitely carried Mother Theresa’s idea [“It’s not how much we give but how much love we put into giving.”] into execution. Elizabeth is undoubtedly blinded by prejudice as she doesn’t suspect what everyone else around her does. At the same time, I’m not quite sure I would have suspected him. Let’s not forget that as a reader we know more than the characters.

My favourite scene is the Christmas dinner scene. Oh boy! It’s full of suspension, drama, passion, everything you need. Elizabeth put herself out there in the sweetest way. Love when women have the guts to act in the name of love!

I read it in one sitting, it’s a perfect Christmas read. Highly recommend it.

8 thoughts on “Unwrapping Mr Darcy by Leslie L. Diamond – Review

  1. I absolutely loved this book and must say I totally agree with your review. As you say Leslie writes such lovely books. I’ve just finished re reading Unwavering Trust and will be rereading this one over Christmas. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment