Remembrance of the Past by Lory Lilian

51pDV0a2kiL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_I’ve had the pleasure to read 2 books in the last 3 days where the characters or the relationships are more real than in most of the variations. In Lory Lilian’s Remembrance of the Past, Elizabeth is just like any of us would be, I think. She was definitely overthinking, but that’s exactly how a girl thinks when she dates or likes a boy. 🙂

Lizzy and Darcy meets in Hyde Park 3 months after the Hunsford proposal. Perfect place to meet btw.

I was a bit disappointed with the Colonel at first as he is very annoying in a bad way in one of the scenes, but luckily he became himself not long after that. His first name is David, not Richard for a change.

Basically, there are two main stories going hand in hand: the Lizzy-Darcy story and a new character comes in with all her past, present and future: “Spectacular Lady Cassandra” as Mrs Bennet says. I liked her very much. I would like a person as a friend like her. The book is sort of long, but Ms Lilian very cleverly drops little “story-crumbs” about Cassandra in the right places at the right time. She also surprised me as I half believed for the gossips, which means the narration is rather good.

My other favourite character is Miss Bingley, who is an absolutley fascianting character (along with Lady Cassandra). She is pretty much herself like in the canon, but her future is very interesting, impressing and satisfying. Again, because of the narration it’s a nice side story.

The only thing I didn’t like is the emphasis on the lovemaking. I mean after all it’s a young boy and a young girl madly in love, after the marriage, so it’s quite all right to write that scene, but I don’t think I want to read one whole chapter, 50 pages sex scene despite of the fact that it was well written. Well, it might have needed to express what ardent love is, but this part was too “pink” and mushy to me.

My favourite scene was where Darcy and Lizzy have an understanding, Ms Lilian knows a thing or two. I definitely recommend it. Brilliant story, characters, writing style.

Remembrance of the Past – Lory Lilian – amazon UK
Remembrance of the Past – Lory Lilian – amazon US

Leave a Reply

