“What could possibly go wrong” Darcy vs. Bennet by Victoria Kincaid

untitledLately, I’m obsessed with analyzing the first sentcence of the books I read. Victoria Kincaid’s new book called Darcy vs. Bennet has a very clever opening sentence: “What could possibly go wrong?” it could be every book’s question. With this sentence you are in the middle of the actions; not starting with a beautiful but honestly most of the time boring depiction of the nature or surroundings. It became one of my favourites opening.

Romeo and Juliet meets Pride and Prejudice but ending happily ever after. Mr Darcy’s father George Darcy hates Mr Bennet and vica versa. Our Mr Darcy meets our Lizzy and they fall in love, basically love at first sight, so “what could possibly go wrong?” 🙂
In the first one or two chapters we have new characters and one of the first things I noticed as a non-native English speaker that there are a few new words in the first masquerade ball scene. The last couple of weeks I read at least 10 books in a row without finding an unknown word. Which means most of the P&P variations are working with the same vocabulary, so it is a pleasure to learn new words. As for new characters, there is one, who was only mentioned and we don’t know anything about him, but I’m very curious what sort of man would he be with the name: Lord Pippenworth. Don’t know why but I love this name. I would suggest him appear in the next book.

I like novels where you can hear the narrator. The author says “Her friend sounded like the overwrought heroine of a tawdry novel…”, then later in the same chapter “This was not a fairy tale or a popular novel.” HAHA. No comment 😀
Mr Collins has a proposal which telling the truth- first sounds boring, but then…someone shows up and makes it great an unique scene.
It’s a pain to see George Darcy as an insufferable, cruel, heartless, insensitive evil, but there is poetic justice…thanks Heaven!
Darcy, Elizabeth and the Gardiners left Pemberley to save Lydia and the next chapter is Lydia’s wedding, what I liked, because there is no circumlocution. Sometimes you just don’t need it even if it’s a novel and I think Ms Kincaid is good at it. I would have skipped that part anyway, but now I don’t need to feel bad about it.
I have more than one scene which become my favourite. One was Mr Collins’s proposal because of that unexpected encounter with someone, the other one is Elizabeth and Georgiana’s conversation in the garden at the beginning of the book; and George Darcy and Lady Catherine’s conversation, they are all brilliant.
Elizabeth and Darcy’s relationship is more real in this novel, than in most of the variations, I think.
Honestly, I’m not sure I would have read the book judged by the title, if I haven’t known the author’s other works (here and here), but as they say, don’t judge a book by its cover, I would also add by its title; especially that after all it suits the story. It just sounded too modern for me for a story placed in regency era.

It’s a real, sweet, well written, heartwarming and -breaking story. Definitely recommended.

Darcy vs. Bennet – Victoria Kincaid – amazon UK kindle ed.

Darcy vs. Bennet – Victoria Kincaid – amazon UK paperback ed.

Darcy vs. Bennet – Victoria Kincaid – amazon US kindle ed.

Darcy vs. Bennet – Victoria Kincaid – amazon US. paperback ed.

2 thoughts on ““What could possibly go wrong” Darcy vs. Bennet by Victoria Kincaid

Leave a Reply

