Allow me to tell you…hello editor… A Will of Iron by Linda Beutler

25835747I always think I have found The Book aka my favourite JAFF book, but this feeling passes as I read a new one. The current book is my favourite, so when I’m reading 4-5 books in a week, every time I have a new favourite. I have read several books since “A Will of Iron” (I even re-read my favourites) and this time I have found what I’m looking for: THE BOOK.  There is nothing at all what I don’t like in it. Normally you can find tiny things, like you don’t like one of the characters, the plot or the solution; the editing is shite or it is physical pain to see the paragraph formatting; sometimes there are boring scenes, sentences, heavens forbid chapters. I’m sure I’m not the only one who skip pages while reading. I promise you, you will drink in every word of “A Will of Iron”.

I’m afraid I mention in every review how much I hate Wickham. This is the first book where he is present, he screws everything up but I don’t mind. Maybe, because the author doesn’t repeat his actions from Pride and Prejudice, but creates new adventures and actions. It is good to read that the emphasis is not on Ramsgate and the cliché actions.

We know how Jane is: innocent, angelic, sweet girl, but here we can see another side of her when she is teasing Mr Bingley. After all she grew up with Lizzy and Mr Bennet, so she should know how to do it. I’d love to copy it here, but I would kill the joke.

There is a Mr Darcy painting! And yay! when Elizabeth sees THE painting… Read it! You’ll be speechless J Oh, and it has a significant role in the plot which will lead to a beautiful scene or rather scenes.

Hope you forgive me when I tell you that our favourite heroine has swooned here… Until now I didn’t know there is such thing as pretty, gentle, graceful-like swoon, but there is indeed. It must have been an art in the regency to impress gentlemen.

Lady Catherine is evil as hell but at the same time, she was able to fob me and I liked this duality. Well, she wasn’t able to fob her daughter, Anne, who is freaking awesome! And she hates her mommy…

There is the novel’s present what is actually happening and also past events going on which you know from Anne de Bourgh’s diaries. Those past actions are shaping the present events. We travel back and forth in these episodes, but I was able to follow it. It could have gone wrong, because sometimes writers want to tell too much, their imagination can go wild and they will tell stories discursively with no coherence. Again, not in this book.

I think, in this case I have to mention the editor’s name: Gail Warner. I check it every time I read a book. If I ever write a book, I want Ms Warner to edit it. I don’t really talk about editing or editors in my reviews because who I am to criticize someone who obviously knows what to do and how to do it, but here I must mention. If you are a JAFF author, fight for Ms Warner! I have a theory that we can see editor behind the book if it’s bad (you can blame her/him) or if it’s brilliant (you may think that it’s not only the author who’s effort makes it great). If the book is good you just forget that it’s more than the author who is working on it. A Will of Iron is brilliant so hello dear editor. Haha, it sound like a love letter to her, but it is not. By the way, I don’t know her at all – I’ve never had any conversation with her, I’m not a relative or a friend, not even a facebook friend or anything. We are total strangers. This book is just a perfect example of the meeting of two great minds.

I admit, after writing this review, I re-read the book, just to find some fault in it, but the only thing I’ve bumped into is at one point the text says 100£ (US and probably also other country’s way) instead of £100 (British way). ****UPDATE**** As Ms Warner said in the comment: “prior to the UK moving to the decimal system in 1971, the £ came after the number. Since Linda’s story is set in the early 1800’s, that was correct for the time period.”

If you want to read something new, sparky, sometimes dark, sometimes funny and you don’t want to read the same plot with the same quotes and characters, you’ll enjoy it.

 A Will of Iron – Linda Beutler – amazon UK

A Will of Iron – Linda Beutler – amazon US

13 thoughts on “Allow me to tell you…hello editor… A Will of Iron by Linda Beutler

  1. Well, this is the first time I have ever received a review and I am blushing! Thank you for your kind words – I greatly appreciate them. However, as an editor, I do feel the need to correct one thing: prior to the UK moving to the decimal system in 1971, the £ came after the number. Since Linda’s story is set in the early 1800’s, that was correct for the time period.

    Like

    1. I don’t call her my “editor-beyond-price” for nothing. Fiction or non-fiction, she is the best editor with whom I have ever worked. Thank you for acknowledging her to the world!

      Like

  2. Thank you for the kind and surprisingly spoiler-free review. Most of all, thank you for acknowledging my editor. In the book’s acknowledgements I mention it was in working with her on The Red Chrysanthemum that the seed for AWOI sprouted. She loved the concept and would not let me shift it to a back burner. So the kettle did boil, thanks to Gail! Thanks again for your praise of my dark little romantic comedy!
    Linda B

    Like

  3. I love Gail! She’s such a sweetheart, but probably swamped as an editor. After this, we’ll all be gunning for her to go over our work. 🙂 If I would’ve known about this review, I could’ve brought you with me to London last month to meet her! I really need to get around to reading this book! You know how it is, so many books, so little time!

    Like

  4. What a wonderfully thoughtful review…Linda is a smart writer with a clever wit. And such a well-deserved pat on the back for Gail! I’m quite fortunate to have her editing my forthcoming book(s). She is a gem!

    Like

  5. Gail is a wonderful editor, and a wonderful person, which is part of why she’s a wonderful editor. She catches all kinds of details to make the story tight and clear for the reader, yet, in the end, you’d hardly know she touched it, as she knows exactly where to stop in order to leave the author’s voice intact. She offers that better word, finds the tiny little inconsistency/plot hole, knows which subtle areas don’t add value, explains the markup so the author understands the edits, listens to the author when a point of discussion is necessary, and comments when she loves a part of the story. In addition, she paves a smooth road for the author with other members of the publication team. I know that with A Will of Iron, she worked with Linda early on, as a substantive editor, something you don’t often see. She’s a dream editor!

    Like

  6. I agree wholeheartedly with the conclusion of the book review! Similarly, I said “Best” after I read “A Will of Iron,” and I’m sticking with it. Like all Austen-inspired fiction fans, I have a dozen or so novels that I adore. Most of my favourites are older, from 10 years or so ago, which I consider the heyday of good Austenesque story writing. But this book topped them all, enough that the author herself is afraid of what she can do to follow up such an exquisite piece of fiction. Nothing else comes close in terms of a unique premise, and I wager most writers are insanely jealous she had this one, because it must have been a joy to write! But no one other than Linda Beutler could have done it justice. Don’t worry, hon, if the next one is half as good, it’ll be great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

