Poor Mr Darcy… ‘The Unthinkable Triangle’ by Joana Starnes – Review

triangleNo spoilers, beside what you can read on the back of the book. Colonel Fitzwilliam proposes Elizabeth just a day before Darcy wanted…

Joana Starnes -with a clever trick- didn’t kill Colonel Fitzwilliam to break the engagement. After all, we all like the original Fitzwilliam who is true to himself in this story, and we don’t want to see him dead. But what Ms Starnes did twice, still broke my heart on (paperback) page 11, kindle ed. end of chapter 1. Poor Mr Darcy!!!! (Don’t worry, he is alive.) Later, there was one special scene where I hated the author so much, I shouted at her (I’ve read it in Bath and we stayed at the same appartment) that how could she do that to Darcy. Very shocking! I do not spoiler, but I’m sure, you will notice it… To be honest, I hated Joana for at least a day, until I got to the point in the book where she was writing the scene between Elizabeth and Darcy so perfectly, that I ‘forgave’ her everything. THAT scene is just simply amazing. She told me, the scene where I hated her was only 3 sentences, and the other scene will be 3 pages. To read those 3 pages were pure joy. The people, the place, the timing, the dialoges, the narration, everything was perfect.

What is a massive advantage (for me) in this book is that Wickham was only mentioned. He did not physically appeared in the story. We know how much I hate him… I hope someone will write a book without him, or I shall do it… What was also great is that there was a Wickhamesque figure, Morton, but luckily, although his mouth was big, he didn’t cause a problem, only some sleepless nights for Darcy.

When Elizabeth realizes how she feels about Darcy, was wonderfully written, just as the scene where Georgiana and Elizabeth is talking in the carriage.

As I told you once, if someone can write about feelings, looks, untold thoughts as well as for eg. Ms Starnes, you don’t need too many actions and you don’t need to write a twist in every 4 pages.

The Unthinkable Triangle is a MUST read. So far it’s only available on kindle, but soon there will be a paperback edition also.

The Unthinkable Triangle, Joana Starnes – Amazon UK, Kindle editon

The Unthinkable Triangle, Joana Starnes – Amazon UK – paperback edition

The Unthinkable Triangle, Joana Starnes, Amazon US – Kindle edition

The Unthinkable Triangle, Joana Starnes, Amazon US – paperback edition

2 thoughts on “Poor Mr Darcy… ‘The Unthinkable Triangle’ by Joana Starnes – Review

Leave a Reply

