Shelves in the closet… Mr Darcy to the Rescue – Review.

mrdrescI must admit I’ve been waiting for this book way too long. I read Victoria Kincaid’s first two books (The Secrets of Darcy and Elizabeth and Pride and Proposals) after each other as they were already published when I found them, but in the case of Mr Darcy to the Rescue, I had to wait until she finished it as the book was still in progress untill a few days ago. The extracts she shared on facebook were very well chosen to tickle the fancy, but in fact she could have chosen any other passages as the whole book is as great as those paragraphs.

Like in Pride and Proposals, Elizabeth got engaged with someone else (namely Mr Collins in this case) before Darcy could address his proposal. And finally a variation where the opening scene is not in Hunsford. I longed to read a book where the author doesn’t start her book at the parsonage. Probably it is easier to ‘continue’ or alter the plot when we already know how much Elizabeth dislikes Darcy, but as you can read it in Mr Darcy to the Rescue, with a little more imagination you can start is much earlier.
The story, as well as the style is lighter than Pride and Proposal was. This book is very funny, full of fantastic dialoges and bright ideas. I couldn’t stop laughing most of the time, however it has some heartbreaking moments too. I would say it is an emotional rollercoaster. For example the first chapter’s start is funny, but a hint from the most ridiculous man is enough to see that a heartbreaking turn is about to come. Then it’s funny again.

In the beginning Darcy is as proud as in the original Pride and Prejudice but I’m happy that Victoria saved Darcy from an embrassing, unsuccessful proposal by letting Darcy to overhear Elizabeth of her opinion. Albeit Darcy’s character is true to his original one, I’m not sure I can say the same about Mr Bennet although I’m afraid there would be no story if he is otherwise.

Ms Kincaid’s idea about breaking off Collins’ and Elizabeth’s engagement is capital!! Watching Darcy sturggle to find a solution is a great pleasure because as you read, you also want to help him. It’s almost chatartic when it comes to him in a flesh how to rescue her. His idea how manipulate the events is impressive.

In this version we are going to Rosings, Pemberley and London, but most importantly in Rosings we will find the shelves in the closet! 😀

The conversation in the second chapter, when Darcy crashes into Elizabeth in Oakham Mount and they walk to Longbourn was my favourite. It was warm, funny, lively. It was my favourite until I read it on. Then my next chapter became the new favourite and then the next. I took notes while reading and i wrote Oakham Mountain is a masterpiece, Rosings is a masterpiece, balcony scene is a masterpiece. So I decided not to chose my favourite scene or chapter, just say that the whole book is a masterpiece and it’s absolutely to my taste.

In some books there are way too many twists and turns. It can be very tiring to read so many of them, that basically you’ll become immune to the events and it does not give you pleasure to read it. It most likely annoys you.
Ms Kincaid does torture Darcy and Elizabeth, but not too much. Once Elizabeth realizes that Darcy is not as pride as she thought she does speak her mind and she does think a great deal about ‘what if…’ but she is also honest and does declare herself when it’s time. Not torturing them too much doesn’t mean it’s boring and it also doesn’t mean it’s rough-and-ready. On the contrary… when a book is well written, you don’t need to throw too many adventures in the heros’ and heriones’ way.
Victoria Kincaid found the perfect balance (to my taste)! Obviously, I would read a lot more form her, but she perfectly knew how to write this book.

Victoria Kincaid, Mr Darcy to the Rescue on Amazon (UK)

Victoria Kincaid, Mr Darcy to the Rescue on Amazon (US)

4 thoughts on “Shelves in the closet… Mr Darcy to the Rescue – Review.

  1. Thank you for the wonderful review! I was very touched that you enjoyed so many different aspects of the book — and you clearly “got” what I am trying to do with the characters. As a writer, it means a lot to me when readers have the same kind of enjoyment from my books that I have gotten from other authors’ works. Thanks for letting me know I hit the mark!

    Like

Leave a Reply

